1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pay for cover band gigs

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by ding_man, Apr 21, 2010.

1. ding_man

ding_man

Dec 24, 2006
    Celina, OH
    Pay varies a lot. From $0 with a open tab (ha) to hundreds of bucks a piece. To even close 1k a piece at weddings and corporate events.

I'm a music student and have playing around my hometown and my college town "professionally" for awhile, but usually one off gigs, jazz, musicals, parties, and random stuff. I've never had a working cover band together except for small gigs and one off things (cause thats not what a lot of people in my position want to do.. heads up their ass till they need to make bread. Rocks fun too!)

I finally have a trio together. I can sing ok and I'd consider myself a pretty tight bass player especially with this drummer. The drummer has so much pocket that he makes rock songs groove like it was Tower of Power. The guitarist is the most "rock" oriented player and hes really great and also has some pipes! I'm pumped to have this group together. Any other cover band I've had (that never took to this level) has had holes that this band is covering.

However, the drummer recently has gotten this professional musician attitude where he won't play a gig for less then a hundred bucks. I think this is fair, but I was trying to tell him theres probably going to be decent gigs (fun, open tabs, and in town) that might pay 50-75 a piece.

Anyway. Considering your area what does your band charge/what do bars tend to pay?

I think the considering the sound we have (especially with three cats) that 100 bucks is more then reasonable, but I'm not sure if we're always gonna get it.

I just wanted to have a little open chat about this stuff. Especially from guys that are actually trying to make part of their bread from this.

2. modulusman

modulusman Banned