1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey series 3 bass combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ironwolf, Jun 12, 2012.

1. ironwolf

ironwolf

Jun 8, 2012
    Firstly i would like to say hi, this is my first post on the site, I recently started playing bass after turning 30 and dropping habits such as too much online gaming!, been playing about 2 weeks and it already feels so good to be doing something fun and constructive.

I have been shopping around for second hand amps, ive always been a fan of older tech as far as audio goes, it seems to have a much fuller sound with more integrity than newer electronic equipment, but anyway I came accross a Peavey series 3 bass combo at 130 watt locally in my area, this is how the item was described but I am still awaiting pictures of the amp atm.

Ive tried searching for this online but can't seem to find much info about a Peavey series 3 combo amp, Im not sure if this is because the seller has the name wrong or because the amp is so old, i spoke to him on the phone and the amp apparently originally belonged to a band called The Animals from back in the 70's so it is an old piece of equipment.

I just wondered if anyone here with more experience has come accross these amps or knows if it is worth buying with a mere price tag of under £100, again i would rather get an older amp than buy a new low wattage practice amp for the same price.

Thanks in advance

2. We'll need photos I think. Never heard of a Series 3 combo from Peavey, but they've turned out a lot of gear over the years, some of it not very common.

3. Sure it'snot a Series 300? IIRC, there was a Series 300 before there was the Series 400 (which I have).