1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

pickup question

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by mr. thingy, Jun 5, 2007.

1. mr. thingy

mr. thingy

Feb 15, 2007
    Shiner
    Hi. I have an Epiphone Thunderbird bass, and I was looking to possibly get a new set of pickups. Does anyone know of any that would have a bright, punchy sounds with good low and high (I usually turn the mid completely off on my amp, so it doesn't really matter)? And it cant be too horribly expensive. Thanks in advance!

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Wow, how do you keep from getting lost in the mix without midrange? That scooped mid sound is good for playing at home, but doesn't work too well in a band setting. As a longtime working pro, I must advise you to reconsider your ban on mids. By themselves they sound ugly. But they make all the difference in the world between being heard and not being heard.

You might want to try actual Gibson pickups in it. Never heard many people complain about the brightness level of the Gibsons. John Entwistle used them. I don't have a lot of experience with Epiphone Thunderbirds, but they don't use pickups like what are in the Gibsons.

3. sunbeast

sunbeast Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2006
    Los Angeles, CA
    The US Thunderbird pickups are pretty well loved with lots of clarity! (Gibsons are "known" for being muddy- mostly the fault of the EB series basses). I'm not sure that you can buy them seperately though? I know used ones on Ebay go for alot of money!

Karl

4. Nocturnal

Nocturnal Abuser of Thunderbird Shaped Objects. Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2002
    Chandler, Arizona