Pickup sound/crappy pickup problem

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by PIZZAcato, Feb 2, 2006.

1. Please help... sorry long post.

Alright before i get to the actual problem i might need to give you a little background so you can better suggest what i need to do. Im a sophomore in a highschool at a school with no strings programs and poor funding, however we seemed to have come across a few old kays and englehardts over the years(which i find odd considering we have no string program but w/e) hence the reason i sitched from guitar to double bass a few years back, a smart choice i might add.
    Anyway as i said before we (especially I) am not "financially comfortable", if you know what i mean and the only pickup at the school is one that has a metal female plug (that has two prongs that connect to the A and D strings) connected to two wires that end with two half circle metal pieces that are clipped to the bridge to pickup the sound (it also has a metal "hanger type" thick wire coming out of the back of the female plug{not sure of its use so i use it for more stability for the pickup}).
    So what i was wondering was if i could get suggestions on placement (where on the bridge i should attach them) of these metal pieces or what i should use to attach them to the bridge with, and so on and so forth. May i say ANY suggestions are welcome!!! i think anything would help the sound of this thing... thank you for reading this very long post

P.S. i recently put the pickup on another bass and i taped the female plug to the tail piece (sorry i wouldnt go on the strings) but it got rid of the buzzing... and its not like this englehardt could look more cheap :meh:
  2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    The Fishman BP-100.
    You can get a small PDF manual from there which shows installation.

Please note you need to plug this pickup into a high impedance input to get good results. (1 Megohms or more)