1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pinky pain, soreness and stiffness.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by PleromicPastry, Jun 29, 2020.

Tags:
  1. PleromicPastry

PleromicPastry Inactive Suspended

Jun 17, 2020
    First off, I apologize if this is the wrong subforum for this. I'm just getting a feel for this site.

I got my bass (acoustic Fender) about a week ago. I'm new to bass but not guitar or other instruments. My pinky is sore and after playing for this short time my left hand in general feels as though I have what I imagine arthritis feels like. When I wake up my pinky is curled and I have to slowly straighten it out or else it can cause momentary pain if I straighten it quickly.

Admittedly I've been playing as much as I can and probably should back off a little but I'm so excited to have my new bass I can't help myself.

So my question is: will this eventually go away? Should I continue to play a little bit everyday and work through the discomfort? Should I stop playing until the pain is gone and ease back into it? I understand most of you probably aren't doctors but I would appreciate some advice. Thanks!

teh-slb likes this.
  2. It takes time to build up strength. If you do anything ‘as much as you can’, you’re going to get sore. Shorten your playing time now. Keep playing - but build up slowly.

teh-slb, Kenova, red_rhino and 4 others like this.
  3. PleromicPastry

Jun 17, 2020
    Thanks for the advice!

teh-slb and sludgetail like this.
  4. LexD

LexD

Aug 17, 2011
    Bay Area, CA
    Endorsing Artist: D'Ambrosio Guitars
    Time to mke sure you've got the foundation.
    For sure start off slow. Stop if you're experiencing pain or discomfort.

Check out videos on Youtube by Adam Neeley and Janek Gwizdala (and other pros) on proper fretting technique and thumb positions.

5. PleromicPastry

Jun 17, 2020