1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

playing jazz in odd time

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by silk1rep, May 3, 2006.

1. silk1rep

silk1rep

Apr 26, 2006
    i was wondering how you guys practice (if at all) in 5/4 7/8 11/8 etc.I started playing with a drummer and a piano player who are really into this kind of thing so now i have to play You and the night and the music in 7/8(solo as well),also some brandford tunes like bullworth (funk in 7/4 mostly) and elysium(also some passages in 5/4 and 7/4).This is a very interactive trio so just playing 2-2-3 or 3-2-2 over the 7/8 wont be sufficient,i have to put some more sophisticated divisions in my playing and i've already come upwith some(e.g 2 bars of 7/8 could be played as 1 in 7/4 using quarter notes) but it would be very helpfull to hear how you guys approach odd meters.what kind of exercises do you work on?
    I was listening to "Anything goes" from the Brad mehldau trio,the tune is in 5 and larry grenadier is playing some awesome bass in there so i guess that would be a good example of what i would like to be able to do.But if you have other ideas which apply to 4/4 and are based on imposition of one kind of rythm over the basic 4/4 beat,i would be very interested in those as well.One example would be using the dotted quarter pulse e.g five pairs of dotted quarter notes plus one quarter to cover 4 bars of 4/4 time.I'm new to the forums so maybe this kind of topic has been discussed before I just thought it would be interesting for all to exchange ideas on this

2. jazzbassnerd

jazzbassnerd

Aug 26, 2002