1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Playing with a click track

Discussion in 'Ask Justin Meldal-Johnsen' started by ETThompson, Aug 5, 2012.

1. ETThompson

ETThompson

Jan 3, 2011
    Hi Justin,

I'm trying to get back into recording after mostly playing live for the past few years (did lots of recording early on, but not always with click).

Anyway, I'm finding that I'm having a hard time getting used to playing with a click, or more specifically, my groove either goes out the window or I get off beat. I prefer to play without but then if I'm sync'ing up to stuff (like, I usually use computer drums), it doesn't work.

Do you (or others on the forum) have any suggestions for how to get good at this? Other than (I guess), just doing it alot? I'm a good amateur player with a great feel but I cannot seem to get that into the box.

Thanks Eric

2. Practice, patience, concentration.
    You know the definition of a professional?
    An amateur is a guy who practices until he can play something, a pro is the guy who practices until he cant play it wrong.

3. Just do it a lot! :) Start with quarters but half notes, whole notes, 2&4, +s, any displacement you can come up with is good.

4. JehuJava

JehuJava Bass Frequency Technician

Oct 15, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    Just keep practicing. Seriously.

5. ETThompson

ETThompson

Jan 3, 2011
    Thanks everyone. I kinda knew that, but it helps to hear it anyway. Now just gotta find...time!

6. pbass2

pbass2

Jan 25, 2007
    Los Angeles