1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Playing with experienced players ...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RustyAxe, Nov 26, 2010.

1. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut
    Reading through countless threads here makes me think of my own situation. I've been playing since 1968 or so. Yeah, I'm old. But I'm not complaining, not a bit. See, I get to play with other old guys, with 30, 40, even 50 years of experience. We can put a band together in two weeks time (and that's just to work out arrangements). There's no "waiting for my <guitarist, drummer, keyboardist, vocalist, whatever> to straighten out". If we play and someone doesn't "get it" from the start, they're history. No second gigs, no tactful suggestions on how to improve. Just a simple, "you're not going to work out" and the boot. Sure, we run into the occasional sub who makes us roll our eyes and shuffle our feet, but the pain is temporary, and they don't get another call.

Anyone else in this enviable position?

I should add that I've been asked to play in bands where one or more members wasn't up to snuff. There again, I don't wait around hoping for the best, I cut and run. Life's too short for crappy music, and the older one gets, the shorter it gets!

2. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

Sep 7, 2006
    Blimp City USA
    I see it two ways... those who are experienced and know it and can be flexible to adapt to other "experienced players". And then there are those who are experienced, set in their ways not flexible to others and impossible to please or work with.

3. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut