1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Please help a beginner!

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by FirstMateJepeto, Jan 11, 2012.

1. I am currently 18 years old and I've been playing electric bass guitar for 6 years. I use a 6 string Schecter Stilleto and I am thinking of buying an electric upright bass... I need advice for the different models, also for the minimum price of a good instrument. I play in a prog/experimental band.

2. younggun

younggun

Jul 19, 2008
    San Antonio
    I'm somewhat in the same boat. I'm interested in getting a decent EUB, but its difficult to cull through all the threads here to get a good understanding of the quality differences in EUB brands and what a good minimum price point to start looking at instruments. I've looked at the stickies, and besides the megathreads on individual brands (which have far too much info), the "primer" type threads seem to deal with "is and EUB right for me" or "is EUB a good intro to DB" which isn't the information I'm looking for.
    Personally I've decided I'm not interested in a DB at this point, and am definitely looking for only an EUB.
    Can anyone point to a thread that deals specifically with what a beginner EUB player should be looking for? If not, any experienced EUB owners want to make a primer type thread for us newbies?
    Specifically pro and cons of different types/brands, price ranges, what to look for in electronics, advantages/disadvantages of string types, solid body vs. hollow body, and anything else someone brand new to EUB should be looking for ("the questions we didn't even know we were suppose to ask" kind of thing).