1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Please help me pick a bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OrangeFurball, Jun 28, 2012.

1. Thanks to everyone that helped!!!! I finally decided on a Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Short Scale red bass!

Hello! I am extremely new to bass and am picking a guitar. My budget is $200 (I know, it's not much.)

I have been looking through basses and think i have found ones that would be good for me. I have no idea what matters when choosing, so I am going off of brand name, price, and looks. These are the ones I have narrowed it down to, in order from favorite to least favorite:

1. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/epiphone-eb-0-electric-bass (red) ********ELIMINATED*********

2. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/dean-custom-zone-4-string-bass-guitar (Green)

3. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/ibanez-gsr200-4-string-bass/h75860

4. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/esp-ltd-ec-54-bass-guitar

I really like the first two equally, but I'm not sure which would be better. I want to play alternative rock, classic rock, and some random other stuff. Mainly alternative. I am 5' 11" but I was told that a 20 fret bass would be fine to begin with. If i enjoy playing and get better I will buy a new one. Thanks! :help:

2. Any of those would work great for a first bass. Some people have a negative view of Deans so be prepared for that. I'm more into the Ibanez or ESP.

Try looking used as well. You'll save alot of money that way. Since your just starting and really don't know much about what makes a good bass and what to look for I'd say buying new wouldn't be a bad idea just so you know you gonna have something that will work.

3. Thanks! Is there anything wrong with Deans that people don't like them?

4. bassplar

bassplar

Jun 5, 2012
    Chicago, IL