Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pocket Preamps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Spanky, Apr 20, 2004.

1. I'm a steady working musician, but I've always been a "plug-n-play" kind of bassist. I'm also an apartment dweller, and it seems my upstairs neighbor doesnt appreciate my humble 350 watt rig when Im trying to rehearse to a CD or write new material. Ive heard there are some headphone preamps for guitar/basses that a CD player can be routed throuh as well. So here's my question: Does anyone know of something like this, that wont cost me the price of a whole new rig? I still want to add a Korg tuner to my rack, as well as a wireless, so I need to save all the cash I can! :help:
    Thanks in advance!
    Peace!
    Spanky

2. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    I don't know if the new little Korg amp modelers have an aux input.

I believe that the Behringer Bass Vamp does (at least the Vamp 2 guitar verson does).

You could buy a small Behringer mixer for about $40 (on up) that you could plug both bass and CD player into and use the headphone jack.

There have to be some small combo bass amps that have both CD inputs and a headphone jack.

Lots of choices for low bux...

3. Jerry Ziarko

Jerry Ziarko Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Rochester, NY
    Absolutely!!!! Tascam BT1 Bass Trainer Sells for approx $150 new. You usually can find one or more new on e-bay for around that price with the AC adapter included. Greatest invention in quite some time.

4. Thanks Jerry, but 150$ even more than I hope to spend. I like the sound of that 40$ better, haha! Maybe 50/60 or so. It doesnt have to be fancy, just direct bass and CD.... ;)
    Peace!
    Spanky

5. Jerry Ziarko

Jerry Ziarko Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Rochester, NY