Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pointers for a cheaper combo amp

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by clochard, Jan 7, 2006.

1. Greetings folks,

i'm back from the newbie tread, in which i got lost, considering the type of info i'm after.

Here goes: can you wonderful and benevolent dbassists point me to some more accessible amps / combo amps for the DB, or simply for acoustic instruments. I'm new to electric amplification in general, and need an amp (sigh).

NOTE: Even tho i was convinced by the times i've played on a contra, i must settle for less.

Enjoy your basses and thanks in advance for the help.

2. what is your budget? The GK mb's can be found used often under $600.
    What pickup are you using? I have had very good success with the new fender bassman 100 and my string charger (magnetic pu).
    It certainly isn't anything like my contra with the golden trinity mic blended with an underwood, but it's good for what it is.
    I'll take the fender to gigs where I'll double or rehearsals to save on the gear lugging. It has a lineout so you can run through the house for larger gigs. I got it for $330 brand new. You'd need a nice preamp and some patience if you'd like to use a piezo pickup with this amp. Put it has a nice punchy 10" speaker. And sounds really, really nice for electric bass.