Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Poll: How many gigs do you play unplugged

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Danko, May 2, 2005.

1. Hello all,

I'm new to DB, and love the concept of playing unamplified. But I had a rather exhausting debate with the guitarist I work with on our last rehersal about gigging without amps. I insisted we could play atleast one set without amps which may let us to go into the crowd and play among them. Since he also plays accoustic guitar, that should not be a problem.

But he insisted that the crowd is too loud and we won't hear anything being too quiet. (We are a duo, and trio if the drummer is around. We play mostly swing and oldies. We both sing.)

What is your experience on this topic?
    What percentage of gigs do you play without amplification?

Take care,

Danko

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I think it would depend ont he types of places that you usually play. In NYC you play a lot of pretty small rooms, and I play about 90% sans amp these days. If I was back home in Ohio, the ratio would be almost in reverse.

3. Hi Danko,

I try to play unamplified whenever possible, which amounts to 50% of my gigs, roughly. I just love the way all the sounds blend acoustically. Moreover, I hate my amplified sound (BassMax -> K&K preamp -> GK amp). Maybe I should upgrade my amplification, but I'm currently saving up for a New Standard... I'd rather have a good bass than a good amp.