1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pre-amp for my new Double bass

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by novo, Aug 6, 2012.

1. novo

novo

Feb 20, 2007
    Hi there

I am a beginner when it comes to Double bass and I want to amplify my double bass

Can anyone please point me to a proper pickup and pre-amp for my double bass from thomann because where I live there is no double bass shops and on the internet it seems that that's the only place where you can buy gear online in Europe.

Best Regards :)

2. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Novo,
    The key thing to remember, is that Double Bass pickups tend to sound different from bass to bass. Thomann carries the two most commonly used pickups which would be a David Gage Realist and the Fishman Full Circle. The Realist is placed under the E foot of the bridge, while the Full Circle replaces one of the Aluminum adjusters, provided your bass has an adjustable bridge. Fishman offers a Pro Platinum EQ, to compliment the Full Circle.

Neither the Fishman or the Realist necessarily require a pre amp, but they can benefit sonically from one, depending on the input impedance of your amplifier. I have used the Headway EDB-1 Blender Pre Amp successfully with the Realist, provided you purchase a padded cable from David Gage here in the U.S. to attenuate the Realists rather hot signal. Jonas Losse offers these pickups and many others. You can get in touch with him through his Double Bass Guide on the web.