1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

pre eb. music man cutlass I lefty flip

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kyledood93, Mar 15, 2013.

1. kyledood93

kyledood93

Mar 14, 2013
    hey bassists, hows it going today.
    so hears the story, about 17 years ago my uncle was given a musicman cutlass I, and he played it and whatnot and loved the heck out of it. well in recent years hes cut back on his bass playing to raise a family and traded me this bass for an xbox.
    heres the question though;

have any of you had any experience flipping one of these heavier than heck musicman's to left handed?

i mean im a poor college student and i have this amazing bass sitting right in front of me that i cant play. and help would be greatly apriciated. i belive i put this in the right spot, let me know if i didnt

the picture is just a google of my bass. but pretty exact

Attached Files:

2. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    My son is a lefty. I've converted a few electric guitars for him. All you really need to do is just reverse the nut and the strings, and move the strap button to the other horn.

However...

The knobs and jack will be on the top edge of the bass and will probably interfere with your left forearm.

The bass will be unbalanced and will probably have significant neck dive because the strap button is now on the shorter horn. You might get by with a very wide strap with an agressive texture that really digs into the fabric of whatever shirt you are wearing.