1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Preamp advice please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Anthbass, Dec 17, 2006.

1. Anthbass

Anthbass

Jul 24, 2006
    Canada
    I found a good buy on an old BGW power amp and will likely purchase it. I have never used an outboard preamp before so I would appreciate some advice as to what brands to consider. Also, the more budget-minded the better, for the time being. Thanks.

2. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    Get a Trace Elliot V Type. Its supose to be really close to an Alembic F1-X

IMAG0014-3.

3. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    My opinions:

1) Buy used.
    2) Ampeg, BBE, Sansamp, SWR, Alembic, Fender, Eden, Aguilar, and Demeter pre-amps are all fine.
    3) Go to http://www.basstasters.com and listen to some clips of various pre-amps. Then, just try something.

Pre-amps are fun! All IMHO :ninja:

4. Dan55

Dan55

Apr 26, 2006
    Atlanta
    I've used a SansAmp BDDI as my preamp for the last couple of years and couldn't be happier. Nice warm sound that'll growl if you want. Less than $200 most places. Get the AC adaptor with it though, so you don't run through so many batteries.

5. Anthbass

Anthbass

Jul 24, 2006
    Canada
    Thanks Jim, that is a great site. Am I right in thinking that the Tech21 sansAmp Driver box that I have is not powerful enough for a moderately sized power amp?
    Dan-I've been using a Tech21 driver and so far, I really dig it, so the rack-mount version is appealing.

6. Jim Carr

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Actually, it will work fine.