1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question about string gauges for Mustang Bass

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by vancitybass, Apr 13, 2015.

1. So recently I bought a Mustang Bass off a guy, and though I'm loving it, I'm switching to the strings to half-rounds. I use GHS brite flats (.049 - .108) on my Jazz, so I wanted to make a similar switch with the mustang.

I already know about the whole medium scale thing, but my question is will using such a heavy gauge affect my neck? This may seem like a dumb question, but I'm still relatively new to bass and I never really thought about this before. The Mustang came from the factory with .040 - .090, which is considerably thinner than the GHS brite flats.

Thanks everyone!

2. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    Is this an original mustang? If not I wouldn't worry about it. If it is an original shouldn't be an issue either.

La Bella Flatwound Mustang Set is .043 .060 .082 .104 and there are no known issues. I have customers who put on the heavier gauge flats and there have been no issues.

3. It's an RI, so I should be good.
    Thanks!

4. Pier_

Pier_

Dec 22, 2013
    Roma, Italia
    for my experience, it depends on what you want. I don't like the Mustang with strings bigger than 40-95. even a 100 is too big and muddy, for my tastes.

what kind of sound you'd like to have?

5. I guess I want something brightish, not quite as bright as roundwound though.
    I also prefer the smooth feeling of a flatwound/halfwound.
    Does the gauge make a huge difference in terms of sound? I thought it had more to do with tension.

6. Pier_

Pier_

Dec 22, 2013
    Roma, Italia
    The gauge influences the sound in a huge way!

Light strings are brighter on the highs and with more lows, because of the wider vibration.