Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

question for the 30yr old+ guys here

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by willgroove2, Jun 23, 2005.

1. willgroove2

willgroove2

Aug 16, 2003
    chicago IL
    Endorsing Artist;Essential sound products,Dunlop, Ergo Instruments
    a student of mine asked me a interesting question today:at what point does a trendsetting bassist become the standard?in my case i started playing bass in 1980 in church.the music i remember hearing at that time that caught my ear was stuff like the brothers johnson with louis johnson on bass,slave,early luther vandross(w marcus miller) as well as stanley clark and jaco.by the time i came along stanley and jaco were well established as trendsetters and influences on countless bass player's, including the guys who showed me how to play ,who all came of age in the '60's and '70's.by the time i was in high school, marcus miller's name was getting to be known to me because his sound and feel was different than what i usually heard so i tried to incorperate some of his style into the one i was developing like alot of guy's i know who came up when i did(i know guy's who had the same bass,amp,strings,strap as marcus and still don't sound like him LOL)when i heard victor wooten with the flecktones i loved what he was doing because it was different but was coming out of that stanley clark/louis johnson thing so i "got it" right away,same with gary willis with jaco.so my question is to the older guy's here;when did trendsetting bassist go past being the new thing to part of the standard for you?

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups