1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Questions... help?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Kingskippy2001, Sep 2, 2008.

1. Kingskippy2001

Kingskippy2001

Aug 12, 2008
    Ohio
    I am pretty new to all of this. I am wonderning about ohms and cabs. My funds limit me... I am looking to get an Avatar cab. I am thinking about a B210 NEO now and adding a B212 NEO or (2) B110 in a couple of months. I don't understand ohms. What kind of amp do I need? How many Ohms? I am looking into a GK amp, but what ohms does it need? Why does the power change compaired to ohms? How many watts do these cabs need?

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Why not just ask the question here? Much better chance of getting a good answer.

3. Kingskippy2001

Kingskippy2001

Aug 12, 2008
    Ohio
    Updated info to help you all help me! :)

4. Kingskippy2001

Kingskippy2001

Aug 12, 2008
    Ohio
    Any help?

5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You're asking a lot of general questions and looking for specific responses. I'll try to answer a little, but don't expect miracles.

Speaker impedance is the average resistance a speaker gives to an amp. Think of it like a hose...unkinked, a water hose lets water run freely. Put a bend in it and some water will come out but it will have some resistance. The higher the number, the more resistance it gives an amp, and the less power that comes out of the amp as a result (this is for solid state only...tube amps have a way of dealing with different impedances called an output transformer). The higher the number, the more resistance.

Someone else can take over from here...I have to go to the bathroom ;)

6. Kingskippy2001

Kingskippy2001

Aug 12, 2008
    Ohio