Rack Mount Effects vs. Pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Bassmanbob, Apr 12, 2005.

1. Bassmanbob

Bassmanbob Supporting Member

When I was actively playing during the mid 1980's, it was generally considered that rack mounted effects were better than the small pedals. I've not been much of an effects guy since I started playing again 4 years ago, but now I'm starting up a band that will require me to get at least a synth, octave, distorsion, delay and a chorus.

I've seen mostly pedal effects in magazines and in stores and many of the pros in Bass Player are using pedal effects too.

Are rack mount effects still being used? Are they still considered better? What are the advantages and disadvantages to the two styles of effects?

Thanks in advance, Bob
  2. Rack effects are still being used, and there are some that far surpass pedals in both sound and value. But for effect-a-holics, nothing beats buying a pedal, plugging it in, testing it out, and if you don't like it, switching it out.

Many people will glom onto 3-4 (or 8-10) of their favorite pedals, and that constitutes 'their' sound. Some go to pedals for their inherent simplicity, disregarding the fact that there's generally one setting they stick with so they don't have to twiddle knobs.

I vaccilate constantly between rack effects and pedals. I like being able to pre-program dozens of different effect patches, calling them at-will via a midi foot controller...but there are some times when I just don't want to spend the 5-15 minutes programming a patch, renaming it, fine tuning it, etc.

There is something to be said for the ease-of-use of a few pedals with a couple knobs on each.