1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rattling noise from headstock

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by scarothjagaroth, Mar 9, 2013.

1. scarothjagaroth

scarothjagaroth

Mar 9, 2013
    I've been playing bass for about 3 months now, and I have a problem that's been bothering me more and more since it started.

I have a Dean E09 Edge bass, and whenever I pluck the strings, there is a weird rattling noise that seems to be coming from the headstock. I've tried tightening screws, but none were loose, so that didn't help. Perhaps I need to replace the strings?

Thanks for your help.

2. msb

msb

Jul 3, 2002
    Halifax,N,S. Canada
    Wait until long after dark , bury it in the neighbor's back yard . It's gone . You will need something that's been made in the USA . Preferably with a Fender decal .

Lownote38 likes this.
  3. Labi

Labi

Jun 14, 2006
    Try this:
    While plucking an open string with the right hand, press that same string with your left hand against the headstock. Do the same thing with every string one at a time. If there's no rattling noise then you might need to install a string retainer.

01-bar.

4. uOpt

uOpt

Jul 21, 2008
    Boston, MA, USA
    Probably the truss rod.

Turn the amp louder :D

5. nice

6. nice

Make sure the tuning peg screws are tight.

MYLOWFREQ and Doctor Hugocat like this.
  7. Labi

Labi

Jun 14, 2006
    Even if you were certain (which you of course aren't) that once you buy "something made in the USA with a Fender decal" rattling noise will never occur, how exactly does your comment help?

8. spiritbass

spiritbass Supporting Member

Jun 9, 2004
    Ashland, MO
    You may have a slot in your nut that is too wide for its string. I've had this happen on a couple of different instruments.

Lowendtech and Scottkarch like this.
  9. Porkbun