1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

re Kuhnla bows

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Selim, Mar 1, 2016.

1. Selim

Selim Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2008
    New York City
    I would love to hear about anyone's experience with and thoughts on Steffen Kuhnla bows.

Mgaisbacher and bskts247 like this.
  2. Better ask in the bow and rosin subforum, this is the string subforum.

bskts247 likes this.
  3. NickyBass

NickyBass Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2005
    Southern New Jersey
    I have two Kuhnla bows. They are an exceptional value. I am really happy with mine, and would recommend auditioning one.

4. Selim

Selim Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2008
    New York City
    Oops. Wasn't paying attention. Thanks.

5. Selim

Selim Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2008
    New York City
    I've been playing for 40+ years but up until recently, with the purchase of a Kuhnla bow, I've always used bows of lesser quality. This had more to do with the nature of the music I was playing (pizzicato) than anything else. But I purchased the Kuhnla because I have resurrected my arco study and I've been going full blast at it. And I feel that after all these years, I deserve the best to work with

I've got no complaints about the Kuhnla whatsoever - as far as I can tell, I've got a fantastic bow. But the reason I'm asking is because I wonder how much more you get with a premium priced bow (Dolling, Hudson, etc.). I have no experience with any of those more expensive bows, so I have no frame of reference for comparison.

Is it the law of diminishing returns?
    Are the undervalued Kuhnla bows just a well kept secret?

6. Mgaisbacher

Mgaisbacher Supporting Member

Oct 18, 2012
    Nashville, TN