1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Reading Nashville Number Chart?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kirkdickinson, Mar 15, 2013.

1. kirkdickinson

kirkdickinson Supporting Member

I can read a little Bass Clef, enough to figure it out, but can't read at playing speed. I usually get a Chord chart for the Christian music bands that I am in.

Found a song online that I really liked and emailed the artist wanting to know if I could purchase the sheet music. He just emailed me the chart. I have never worked from a Nashville Music chart before, but I almost always transpose chords to the roman numbers in my head. I get so much music where the guitarist capos, and have just had to learn do transpose and that is the easiest way for me.

Anyways, Here is the chart:
    Into-Your-Hands.

I understand the 1, the 2-, the 6-, the 5, all that makes sense. Below is the first line of the first verse and my first question is: What is the diamond for??

Second question is the 1 / 4/1?? I thought that each number was the chord for a measure and maybe the 1 / 4/1 split the measure, but the 4/1 throws me because I usually see the slash chords as either first or second inversions, but a 4 chord with the 1 in the bass just makes no sense??
    v1.

Next, what do these little 1's and 2's mean with the bracket above them?
    bracket1.

Also, what does this mean?

bridge.

Thanks,

Kirk

2. Zootsuitbass

Zootsuitbass Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2011
    These are educated guesses.

Diamond is a whole note,,

1 1/4 is a slash cord. . IE In G.. G , C/G. Creates The Amen cadence. 2 beats each. Same thing with the last four of the breakdown. 1/3 is the one chord with it's 3 in the bass IE. G/B.