Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Reason Users?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by bassturtle, May 20, 2004.

1. bassturtle

bassturtle

Apr 9, 2004
    I've been using a Pro Tools Digi 001 system for a couple of years now and love the results. I recently purchased Reason 2.5 to use as a soft synth. Was wondering if anyone was doing the same thing. I've been trying to use it for piano and string patches with limited results. Anyone have any tips for making the patches a bit less harsh sounding? ie what reverb/eq units are you using in reason if any and if so how are you patching the effects in (like through the aux in/outs or direct into the sampler)? Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

2. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I use ProTools and Reason, and I get some decent results methinks (except my drum sounds - still working on that). Put a reverb in an insert on the mixer - it helps alot. Usually I put a bit of distortion on drums - just a tad- and that helps them sound a bit more real. Also, DON'T just take the stock samples that they have in there and use them as is. Tweak them. I'm starting to hear plain Reason samples in car commercials; that's some weak trash.

3. bassturtle

bassturtle

Apr 9, 2004
    Are you using the RV7000 reverb or the older reverb that came with 2.0? I've also been using the Scream module on the tube setting to warm things up a bit with decent results. I guess I need to spend more time tweaking the samples directly on the sampler. Have you tried any of the refill packs? Any refills you'd recommend for good grand piano sounds?

4. Benjamin Strange

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA