1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recommend an Affordable Fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LostInSauce, Nov 2, 2018.

1. I’ve been playing for a long while now and never really wanted a fretless. Two years ago I started playing in church and have been blown away by how many songs were recorded with a fretless or the songs would be perfect for a fretless.
    So now I’m looking to dip my toe in the water. I’ve seen that ESP makes a mid-level fretless and so does Ibanez and I think I remember seeing a Squire fretless. These are unfamiliar waters to me since I’ve never really paid attention to them in the past.
    Any mid-level fretless 5 strings out there you would recommend. Further, I’m not opposed to buying used if the fingerboard isn’t all chewed up.
    Thanks All!!

2. mikewalker

mikewalker Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!
    bholder and Yammybass like this.
  3. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Fusion Cats Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    "Affordable" means different things to different people. What's your budget?

4. Around 450-600

madjazzbass likes this.
  5. People seem to like the Ibanez Gw basses and those are 5ers. Both of my fretlesses were 4 strings. I’ve always struggled to find a 5 string fretless that was aesthetically pleasing to me. I guess you could always do a parts build. I’ve seen 5 string mexican fenders priced as low as $350 used and you could have Warmoth make you a sick fretless neck for it and just swap the tuners to the new neck.

6. I have a Esp Ltd vintage 214 fretless that I put Geezer Butlers in that has been hanging on the wall. Its a 4 string, but I'm willing to part with it! A bit on the hefty side but its still a nice player.

TN WOODMAN likes this.
  7. kesslari