1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recording an instructional, using DI and Pro Tools 8

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by muthagoose, Mar 12, 2017.

1. muthagoose

muthagoose

Jan 18, 2004
    Sweden
    I'm looking to record a few instructional videos with just a bass track, and maybe a click track. I know the very basics of recording, but I am still very new to it, and the guides I've found for mixing bass mostly cover a band setting.

What are some basic plug-ins and settings you would recommend to get a clear sound? Are there any do's and don'ts I should keep in mind?

Thanks!

2. And I

And I Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2009
    Witchtown, MA
    Start with no plugins and all the knobs "neutral" on your bass. Use a good DI and plug your bass into it and run it into your computer. How does it sound? If it's good, you might be done. If it's not you have to adjust things based on what it sounds like and what you want it to sound like. Other than possibly rolling off some of the very low and very high frequencies (below around 40 hz and above around 10k) there's nothing that is likely to make it sound better without evaluating how it sounds at first.

3. Badwater

Badwater

Jan 12, 2017
    I totally agree with And I. And I agree, today's latest interfaces and DAWs have a lot of power and a lot better clear sound quality and volume overhead than those say 5 to 10 years ago.