Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Recording Bass into Cubase SX

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by damo2576, Aug 20, 2004.

1. damo2576

damo2576

Aug 9, 2004
    Hi,

I'm new to bass and recording into Cubase, though not to Cubase in general.

What I want to do is plug my Bass into my soundcard.

I presume I need a DI box? My bass is passive, my soundcard is an Audiophile 24/96 - the audio ins are RCA so I need an XLR to RCA cable to run from the DI to the sound card?

Does anyone have any experience of latency I can expect, my pc is p4 3.2, 1gb ram etc, sound card is midiman audiophile. Should I be able to run insert effect in Cubase with that spec?

Does anyone have any experience of how a clean signal will sound routed through Cubase and out of monitors (Alesis M1 Mk2 Actives)? I guess the freq response is low enough? I expect it to sound better than my orange crush practice amp?

Also any pointers on how to actually set up cubase to record, input settings etc would be gratefully received - ive never done that before.

Wow. Sorry for the rambling post, I'm trying to get everything sorted in my head before I buy the DI box.

Thanks in advance!

Damo

2. Hey! We have very similar setups so i should be able to help.

Firstly, a 24/96 is almost latency free, it's the analogue/digital converters in the soundcard that 'create' the latency (unless your running LOADS of effects in cubase) so you should be fine.

Depending on how high a quality you want you might not need a DI box. If your just recording to show friends or practice to etc. then you could probably get away with coming out your amps line out and into the cards phono inputs. Otherwise a DI box would be best.