1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recording Mic

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by showfeet, Jul 30, 2012.

1. showfeet

showfeet

Jan 6, 2012
    St. Louis, MO
    I am going to start recording a Jazz album in my basement with some friends. I have not recorded much (I am a high school student) but I think it would be better to go with a mic than with my Realist. What kind of mic should I use? I large diaphragm condenser? A ribbon? Any specific models? I would like this to be under $150, but budgets never hold true, so what ever. Thanks!
    -Show Feet

2. RSBBass

RSBBass

Jun 11, 2011
    NYC
    There are others here with more experience and knowledge, so take what they say with more than this: For recording a DB a condenser mike has the ability to respond to the wide dynamic range. They do need phantom power so that can be an issue. I picked up a used Rhode NT 1A for $75 and it does a nice job for home recording.

3. showfeet

showfeet

Jan 6, 2012
    St. Louis, MO
    Thank you for the information. I think I will go with a condenser based on what I've read.

4. colcifer

colcifer Esteemed Nitpicker Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    A Galaxy Far, Far Away
    If you have enough ins, record using the pickup too. It's always good to have options.

5. If you only need the mic for this recording, I'd look into renting one. Some stores rent out gear, and they can help you choose a decent mic without hurting your budget too much.

6. GrowlerBox

GrowlerBox

Feb 10, 2010
    Nude Zealand