Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

remembering standards chord prog..

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by mav, Feb 27, 2004.

1. mav

mav

Jun 10, 2003
    i have another ?? :meh:
    i play with this great guitarist who for some reason can play just about any jazz standard without a chart, its unbelievable hes a walking jazz jukebox.
    ive asked him how and he told me it all just 2 5 1's or 6 2 5 1's
    so ive been spending the past year playing very slowly
    6 2 5 1 and singing it to myself to internalize it, and its slowly working but last night at a party someone got up and wanted to sing MY WAY and he played the whole tune, i couldnt believe it ive been playing with him for 3 years and weve very played it and he just pulls it out of the hat.
    how can i develop this great skill?

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    My earliest training in this was from my dad. I would ride with him up to Detroit from Toledo on weekends (couple of hours each way) for gigs. He would put on the AM station playing the old big band stuff and Sinatra and Bob Goulet (sp?) kinda stuff. He'd say, "Ok, we're in the key of G. What are the changes?"
    You can do this to yourself, while in elevators, etc.

Years of experience in doing this helps a lot as well. No short cut there.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    The real key to it is ear training focusing on intervals. I can't imagine that he actually has memorized most every standard tune around. He probably just hears intervals really well.

In addition to the intervals, you need to train your ears to recognize the chord forms. Once you are there, you can pretty much play anything that your hands will allow you to play.