1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Removing position marker dots

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by BassmanBender1, Feb 14, 2020 at 5:16 PM.

1. BassmanBender1

BassmanBender1

Nov 3, 2019
    A couple of years ago when I was just fiddling around with the double bass, I took my Engelhardt EM1
    to a local shop and had them install side marker dots. I have played electric for years and thought the dots would help me transition to double bass.

But now that I'm no longer working and have plenty of time on my hands, I am studying bass at the local community college and my bass instructor has told me to get rid of the dots. They are not accurately positioned and are becoming a crutch for me.

I am considering drilling out the dots, filling in the holes with wood sealer and then painting or staining the side of the finger board. It's not ebony, but I'm not exactly sure what it is. Any advice or admonishments RE the work, the type of sealer or stain to use would be appreciated.

Thanks for your help.
    IMG_0847.JPG IMG_0846.JPG

2. John Chambliss

John Chambliss Supporting Member

Nov 11, 2005
    Memphis, TN
    Black/brown sharpie?

robobass, Dabndug, jsf729 and 6 others like this.
  3. Steven Ayres

Steven Ayres Supporting Member

Mar 11, 2007
    Northern Arizona
    The process is relatively straightforward (if labor-intensive) for a luthier, but in your place I'd maybe just cover them with a stripe of tape or something for the time being.

Have you considered simply not looking at them when you're playing?

(Edit: Just confirming: they're pearly and drilled-in, rather than paper and varnished over, right?)

Last edited: Feb 14, 2020 at 7:07 PM
  4. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California