1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Replacing the bridge on a Fender Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by mzclark06, Oct 25, 2013.

1. mzclark06

mzclark06

Oct 1, 2013
    Knoxville, TN
    So, I bought this standard Fender Jazz Bass from a pawn shop a couple years ago, and I've slowly been refurbishing it. I recently decided to buy a new bridge because the one on there was super rusty and gross. I ordered an entire bridge assembly and mounting screws directly from Fender. As I was tightening the screws, two of them tightened completely, and the other three won't tighten all the way (they screwed in all the way, but continue to turn indefinitely). I was wondering, what exactly would be the best way to fix this?

(Also, this is my first post ever on here, I hope I did this the right way...)

2. I’m not a pro tech, but if I understand your problem, I’ve used toothpicks and white glue to fix striped holes in the wood and it’s worked very well.

PS: Welcome to TB.

3. Toothpicks and white glue are an accepted and widely used fix for this. Put in a couple of drops of white glue, add enough toothpicks to assure a tight fit by the screw (I clip off the toothpicks with side cutters), put the bridge in place and insert the screws. Don't tighten the ones you're fixing very tight - you can do that 24 hours later.

4. mzclark06

mzclark06

Oct 1, 2013
    Knoxville, TN
    So should I wait to put strings back on until I completely tighten the screws back up?

5. I would.

6. FunkyZeit

FunkyZeit

Oct 20, 2012
  7. Lownote38

Lownote38

Aug 8, 2013
    Nashville, TN
    This has never failed for me. I use the yellow wood glue though.

8. Lownote38

Lownote38

Aug 8, 2013
    Nashville, TN