1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Right device for jamming and practicing

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by bozha, Aug 8, 2019.

1. bozha

bozha

Jun 5, 2008
    SRB
    I'm looking for some dead quiet solution for home jamming and practicing without disturbing anyone around. Looking through the internet i can say that small, portable interfaces are now the thing and I might say it's nice to have play along possibility, with modeling and recording. Problem is that i have zero experience with those and i would like you to put some of yours pros and cons for my narrowed list:

- iRig (smartphone interface, max portability, somehow looks limited)
    - Behringer UCG102 (or similar cheap PC USB thing without separate power source, might just do the thing)
    - Focusrite Scarlett Solo or any other proper standalone interface (bit cumbersome along with laptop, cable and power adapter)

Of course, any other suggestions are most welcome...

2. Acoustic356

Acoustic356 Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2014
    Earth
    I have an Ashdown TonePocket, among a few other things. It gives you the feel of an amp... it's an interface, and you can use the 1/8" connector to play along with your phone.

bozha likes this.
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Take a look at the Zoom B3 or B3n as an alternative to the Focusrite. It can be used standalone with headphones (B3 will even run on batteries, B3n will not) or connected to a laptop via USB (which will also power the unit). Of course, it's also an effects box useful for gigs and used as a DI, too.

bozha likes this.
  4. ElectricBass72

ElectricBass72

Aug 6, 2019