Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rock basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chalky, Apr 29, 2004.

1. chalky

chalky

Apr 29, 2004
    London
    :help:
    I'm a bassist in a rock band, yet I really don't know a hell of a lot about good basses for the right tones for the kinda music I play. I need educating and I think you guys can help me out!
    I currently play a short scale Epiphone SG, which is dang top-heavy and basically....a bit crap! I mainly went for it cos it was cheap, looked good, and cos I'm a short-arse so it looks in proportion to my minature frame.
    What I really need is a bass with good low tones which can rock, but is also short-scale. Is it possible....???

Peace and Rockouts :bassist:

C

2. mnemonix

mnemonix

Apr 27, 2004
    England
    All Warwicks with bolt on necks are available to order with 30" or 32" short scale options. I have a 32" Thumb on order at the moment.

An original Fender Mustang (30" same as your EB0) could be had for around £ 500, check ebay, there's usually a few.

Chris.

3. mnemonix

mnemonix

Apr 27, 2004
    England
    oh, and i love my Fender Spazz.

4. mnemonix

mnemonix

Apr 27, 2004
    England
    I can't keep away from this thread... mainly because I played a Gibson EB0 - the original version of your Epiphone for over 15 years and when I've sought advice about short scale basses got very few replies.

There's nothing wrong with what you've got, it's actually a pretty good EB0 copy: listen to 'sunshine of your love" by Cream, easy bass line to learn, but it's the big fat fuzzy sound which your bass is designed to make with the right amplification - and Jack Bruces fingers !