1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rotosound strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bass player !!, May 6, 2010.

1. bass player !!

bass player !!

May 5, 2010
    Hi, i've just got my bass and i want 2 replace the factory strings. I saw that rotosound make double bass strings aswell. I used rotos for my elctric bass and cant fault them, i was wondering if anyone uses the DB strings they do and what their like etc?

2. I think they have a synthetic core, have low tension, and are mostly used by Bluegrass or Rockabilly players.
    But they're marginal DB strings.
    Maybe you should consider a company that specialize or have more knowledge in DB strings. (just a suggestion, with all due respect)

3. bass player !!

bass player !!

May 5, 2010
    sweet man, would u recommend any? im a complete novice whn it comes to DB

4. Hi.
    Since your profile is empty, we don't have a clue about your setup, the music you play, that kind of thing.

What kind of DB do you have?
    What kind of tone are you seeking?
    Bright and lots of sustain?
    Dark and thumpy?

Playing pizz only?
    Arco only?
    50-50?

More info is necessary to guide you in the right direction.

Best,
    François

5. bass player !!

bass player !!

May 5, 2010
    its an archer (a student brand) as i didnt want to get a really expensive model as im only just started learning and its a side project to my electric bass. i like the folk kinda stuff as well as kinda swing stuff ( think "fever") as well. as for set up i have no idea as i still dont fully understand the instrument. i nearly always play with fingers although i would like 2 learn a bit about bowing at somepoint

6. Do you plan to get a teacher?

Anyway, Corelli strings are very nice hybrid strings (good for pizz and arco work), and are thin and easy to play.
    I'd suggest them to a beginner.