1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rumble 500C + Barefaced One10?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GuitarJay, Oct 27, 2018.

1. I’m relatively new to bass gear beyond the extremely basic, so please forgive my simpleton question!

I have a Rumble 500 combo and a Barefaced One10 cab. The cab has an 8 ohm impedance and a max power rating of 250 watts.

It seems I should be able to hook up the One10 to my Rumble to get the full 500 watts and since 250 watts would be going to the One10, I should be good.

Am I thinking about this correctly?

I’m playing blues with bit of Classic rock and jazz with unmic’d drummers and not going into a PA, so won’t be turning up to 10! The guitar is typically in a Fender Deluxe Reverb at 22 watts.

Many thanks!

2. G-Dog

G-Dog What a fun place! Supporting Member

Feb 12, 2016
    Yes, I believe you are generally thinking correctly.

However, there could possibly be a "gotcha" in the max power rating of the cab. Max, or peak, or program power ratings are sometimes inflated terms that may not relate well to truly safe power levels. RMS, or clean continuous power ratings are usually the safest power level ratings, but are sometimes much lower than max, peak or program, often by a factor of one-half! That is, a 250 max watt cab might really only be safe to take 125 continuous watts! And the Rumble 500 is rated in clean continuous watts, 350W into a single 8-ohm cab (the combo itself), and 250W into each of two 8-ohm cabs (the combo & extension cab) totalling 500W.

The lowest rated Fender V3 Rumble cab, the 112 (now discontinued) is rated 500 watts program and 250 watts continuous. And this is considered the lowest rating safe for use with the 500 combo. You should check the specs of your cab to see if it's comparable.

For example, here's a link to a Barefaced One10 cab whose specs say:
    "RECOMMENDED AMP POWER