1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Running 2 Speaker cabs ?????

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MrShawn2U, May 10, 2006.

1. MrShawn2U

MrShawn2U

Mar 20, 2006
    NH
    I have a question since I am new to running head and cab set ups. Is it ok to run a 8ohm 2x10 with a 4ohm 1x15 off of a GK 1001RB-II?? I would think logically that that would equate to somewhere around 6 ohms? Using the logic that running 2 8ohm cabs would equate to 4ohms. I just want to make sure I wont cause any damage to the speakers or the head. Thanks.

2. jpark

jpark

Feb 2, 2006
    WV
    With an 8ohm and 4ohm that would run a little over 2 ohms. I'm pretty sure your amp isn't capable of running at 2 ohms. And you're correct, two 8 ohm cabs run at 4 ohms.

3. I think if you ran them in series they should be @ 12 ohms. In parallel they should be @ 3 ohms. It will not damage anything if your head is stable to the ohm load it is driving. I am not sure how stable the 1001RB-II would be @ 3 ohms.

4. jpark

jpark

Feb 2, 2006
    WV
  5. MrShawn2U

MrShawn2U

Mar 20, 2006
    NH
    Yes, the 1001RB II is rated for a minimum of 4 ohms, so I guess I can't run them normally. So basically if I want to run them in series I would go out of the amp to the 4ohm cab, and out of the 4ohm cab to the 8ohm cab correct? That would equate to 12 ohms?

6. No. The way the cabinet inputs/outputs are wired is such that doing what you described still connects them in parallel, with the resulting impedance of 2.67 ohms as before.

You would need a modified cable to connect the cabinets in series. However, this is not an ideal solution to the problem.

7. MrShawn2U

MrShawn2U

Mar 20, 2006
    NH