1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rust on Pickguard

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Jun 3, 2014.

1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    Have a 1972 Framus Strato bass that is original except for a few screws on the pickguard. Some of these have rusted around the screw heads and stained the pickguard. (See picture, just above the thumb rest and a couple other places the pic does not show well)

Does anyone have any solutions for this?

102_6064_zps832b5e52.

102_6063_zps2805eddd.

2. It adds character to the instrument.

3. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2006
    Replace the screws with appropriate substitutes. Store the original screws for the future. Clean the pickguard with soap and water. Then leave it alone. Anything beyond this simple cleaning will negatively affect the value. If the stains are really a sticking point, make a tracing of the pickguard and have a new one made. Save the old one for the future should you decide to sell the instrument.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
  4. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY

Yeah, call it patina and call it a day. :cool:

5. sissy kathy

sissy kathy Back to Bass-ics Gold Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2014
    Arbutus, MD
    If you're determined to clean it though, you're not gonna believe this, BRASSO.

6. Bar Keeper's Friend would do it, it contains oxalic acid, which dissolves rust. If it were mine, I'd soak it in a bath of diluted wood bleach (same active ingredient as the other product,) it doesn't affect plastic.

7. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY

A plethora if acid containing household items would work. Tang crystals made into a paste, soak in vinegar, lemon juice.... You cab even buff it off with a Dremel.