Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sam Jones" Autumn Leaves transcribed?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by JohnBarr, Mar 14, 2006.

1. JohnBarr

JohnBarr

Mar 19, 2004
    Central NY
    Does anyone know where I might find a transcription of Sam Jones lines on Autumn Leaves from Adderly's Something Else?

Not just the intro, I've got that. But I'm not very good at picking out the lines he uses in the song.
    I like the feel of the first chorus with Miles and then he makes a nice rhythm change when the sax comes in.

I searched on line but couldn't find anything. Maybe it's in a book someplace?

Thanks,

John

2. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    You know, John. I hate to say this because I hate it when people say it to me, but the real value in transcription is doing the work. I've suffered through that particular transcription myself and it was worth it. Sam Jones plays beautifully on that album. As a matter of fact, I need to go back to that record and invest in transcribing the other tracks too.

The Autumn Leaves track would be worth transcribing, 4 bars a week if you have to and then playing through a few other keys. I haven't learned to like or be good at the process yet, but I have been sold on it's value.

I have some written Paul Chambers transcriptions and they've not benefited me nearly as much as the things I suffered (not too strong of word) through copping myself.

Sorry to be a tool. I don't know of an available transcription. I didn't write it down when I did it on someone's advice.

Troy

3. Andy Allen

Andy Allen "Working Bassist"

Aug 31, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    I agree with this - the transcribing bit, not that Troy's a Tool :p .