1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Scales

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tiberya, May 14, 2011.

1. Tiberya

Tiberya

May 2, 2010
    hey there !

at this moment i have no knowledge of scales and how they are formed and for what reason
    however i want to understand how they work and how they look and sound
    so i can start messing around with them
    also my music theory is non existing i also want to learn that
    i do have the book from Hal Leonard called the bass method
    but when i try to work with that book i am completely lost
    if you guys could give me some pointers that would be helping me greatly
    i did look at the topic : Introduction to Scale and Chord Theory but i find myself lost there as well
    so at this moment im lost

2. Basshoofd

Basshoofd

Jan 14, 2009
    Netherlands
    Take a look at studybass.com

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
  4. avengeance

avengeance

May 11, 2011
    music theory and bass guitar for dummies?? I currently own the Hal Leonard Bass Edition with all 3 books and the Music Theory for dummies is great really breaks the material down for you.

5. Studybass.com has helped me out immensely. Good explanations of how and why things work with lots of exercises. Bass guitar for dummies is a good accompaniment to it.

6. Staccato

Staccato Low End Advocate

Aug 14, 2009
    Alabama
    +1 Studybass.com

Bass Guitar for Dummies is a good supplemental reference. If you're shopping 'used' on Amazon<hint>, make sure that the CD is included...
    (some of those on Amazon are missing the CD).

7. Already In Use

Already In Use

Jan 3, 2010
    The initial key for me was learning chord structure. Knowing that and a fake chord sheet you can play just about anything.