Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Schertler Dyn-b... can't work with this thing....

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by b-flat, Nov 11, 2003.

1. b-flat

b-flat

Dec 5, 2002
    Lisbon, Portugal
    HEY!

I borrowed a Schertler Dyn-b from a friend just to try, but this is my first time trying to amplify my bass.

I don't have a bass amplifier so i'm using it direct to mixing desk. I've already tried different ways to put the transducer, but even in the best way the sound comes with lots of middles.

I've placed 3 cm below the brigde on side of the G string...

As anyone tried this thing? How can a have a better sound?
    As far as I heard this transducer is told to be one of the best, but i can't seem to doing things the right way...:bawl:

cheers!

mad

2. Monte

Monte

Jan 9, 2001
    New Albany, MS
    There is a frequency at around 180 hz that makes the Dyn B have some honky sound in mid-range. I never use the Dyn B without their preamp, which has a notch filter to eliminate it. If you have a notch filter you may be able to help it.

However, it still should sound decent. The best way to get a good sound is to have someone hold the checker like piece and move it around like a stethescope until you find the best spot. When you find it, then apply the putty and put it on.

Every bass seems to have a different sweet spot. It took me an hour to find it on my old Juzek, and slightly less on my new Solano.

I've also heard that the Dyn B doesn't work very well on plywood basses because the tops are too stiff and don't move as much. Never tried it myself though.

Monte

3. poalf

poalf

Feb 27, 2003
    Phoenix, Az
    Location, location, location...

I have mine more on the bass side... it's about 4 or 5cm (a couple of inches, plus or minus) below but a bit toward center of the bass side foot.