1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Schertler Stat B Vintage revisited

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by flatback, Sep 28, 2014.

1. flatback

flatback Supporting Member

May 6, 2004
    After many years of cycling thru pickups and mics and pickup/mic combos, I just rediscovered the Stat B Vintage. I was interested in it because I was reminiscing about Charlie Haden (with whom I studied years ago)
    The Pickup was avail on evilbay without a preamp. I bought it anyway because I had heard that the Headway EDB1 would fire it up. It turns out the EDB2 fires it up but not the first version, so I put out the word here that I needed a preamp and Taki (Fabrice) sent me what looks like one of the first Stat B preamps (cool euro graphics...talk about the vintage model...)
    I cut sanded and installed the two little wood chips in the bridge holes (made from an old bridge foot) and plugged it in.
    I'm going to cut to the chase here...On gigs this week interesting things happened: first I got to an open air gig with PA support and plugged in my amp which didn't work (turns out I was plugging the speakon into the lower plug on the MAS 46 which must be either broken or a thru because the sound was distorted and so thin as to sound busted...) Since the gig was about to start I gave the sound guy a direct line from the Schertler pre. What a great sound I had all night long, phat articulate acoustic-y but not washed out, every note sang out, I could drive the band and still play really nuanced solos. I am totally sold on it.
    Next night I figured out the speakon thing and used a Walter Woods (borrowed while my Focus is in the shop) in to the 46. That was such great sound.