Seeking GREAT examples of funky bass!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Roscoe62, Jan 9, 2004.

1. Roscoe62

Jan 6, 2004
    Wellington NZ
    Hi there,

I am just starting out and I love the sound of a great funk bass!

I like slapping where appropriate, but anything that just has that groove is what I'm looking for.

I've heard some great names mentioned in various posts - Larry Graham, Louis Johnson, Bernard Edwards, Bootsy Collins etc, but what I'm really looking for is specific songs on specific albums where these guys and others really shine! I'm keen to listen and learn.

Can anyone help me out?

2. the great one

the great one

Jan 25, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    'The Return of the Space Cowboy' - Jamiroquai
    'Emergency on Planet Earth' - Jamiroquai

Most of the tracks on these album are funky [super tight & clean space funk]
  3. required listening for funky bass- "Bonin' in the Boneyard" by Fishbone. Norwood is a monster!
  4. Anything by Tower Of Power with Francis Rocco Prestia (this guy's playing rules so much) on bass, especially songs like What is hip, Down To the Nightclub, You've got to Funkifize, Funk the dumb stuff, and the list goes on and on.

Motown with Jamerson on bass has some great funky lines to, check out Marvin Gaye What's going on and Gladys Knight and the Pip's version of "Heard it through the grapevine..... (all Jamerson's playing is really great imo)

Also listen to Jaco Pastorius. On his debut album are some great funky lines like on "Come on Come over".

And ofcourse the master of funk Paul Jackson. His work with Herbie Hancock's Headhunters is really some of the most funky stuff on the planet. Songs like "Watermelon man" and "Chameleon" are really really funky...
  5. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

If you're talking straight up groovin'......check out Rocco Prestia from Tower Of Power, Bernard Edwards(RIP) from Chic, Jaco(RIP)(on the more r&b, bluesy stuff), Stuart Zender on Jamiroqui's stuff & Bootsy Collins.