1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Semi-Acoustic Bass for New Player

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jck911, Mar 14, 2013.

1. Jck911

Jck911

Mar 12, 2013
    I've decided to learn bass again after a hiatus of some thirty years.

I want a semi-acoustic, as I don't have an amp, and will just be playing along with the stereo.

I've narrowed it down to a few possible choices as follows:

o Hofner 500/2 Club
    o Hagstrom Viking
    o Epiphone Jack Casady
    o Ibanez AFB200

The main criteria are playability (considering I'm a fat-fingered newbie) and sound (non-amplified).

I'm very happy to hear of any opinions and suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

2. Those "semi-acoustic" basses will have virtually zero tone or sound without an amp. The Hofner, the Epi, and the Ibanez, at the very least, are not acoustic instruments in any real sense of the word. You will have problems with pitch differentiation even with a quiet stereo playing in the background.

I'd get a real Acoustic Bass Guitar, or a small amp along with any of those basses.

3. Jck911

Jck911

Mar 12, 2013
    Is the Hagstrom different?

So what are your recommendations for an acoustic?

What do you think would be the best instrument given my needs?

4. My steady workhorse, Crate practice amp cost me $40, 25watts x 12" spkr,
    more than loud enough and even used for small venues.
    IMHO, buy a used Squier. They are cheap, easier to play than acoustic and can easily sale later
    for what you bought it for.
    Had it not been for "MTV unplugged" I doubt 90% of the acoustic basses would have ever been bought.
    A true acoustic is a stand up bass.
    If you have to plug in an acoustic bass guitar, what's the point?

5. Jck911

Jck911

Mar 12, 2013
    OK thanks guys.