Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Separated neck...online how to?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mjmeneley, Mar 25, 2004.

1. mjmeneley

mjmeneley

Mar 25, 2004
    I have a 1939 Kay upright bass that belonged to my grandpa that I am hoping to repair/ restore. The neck has pulled away from the back about 1/16" and this is the main thing I want to fix. I have been told I need to separate the rest of the joint using heat, and then reglue it. Can anyone direct me to any online how-to's that could help me do this myself? I'd like to save the $400 or so it would cost me to have it professionally repaired, but I do want to do it RIGHT. Any help would be greatly appreciated...Thank you!

2. I'm no expert, but I think any luthier here will tell you that a neck reset is extremely critical and is something that should be left to an someone who's had ample experience.

Sounds like the bass has some sentimental value to you. Might be worth the investment to have it done by a professional.

Just my $.02

3. Heifetzbass

Heifetzbass Commercial User

Feb 6, 2004
    Upstate, SC
    Owner, Gencarelli Bass Works and Fine String Instruments, LLC.
    Hey-

I agree with Mike about the pro. Probably worth it in the long run, but...

If you are an experienced woodworker you should drop in on www.mimf.com. (musical instrument makers forum). There you will find a ton of info on things like this. Very good resource if you are interested at all in tings of dis natchah. (best arnold)

FWIW
    Brian

4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Hopefully Arnold and JefeJeff will chime in here in a second.