Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Setting Intonation

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by RHFusillo, Feb 21, 2005.

1. RHFusillo

RHFusillo Supporting Member

Mar 20, 2000
    Phoenix, AZ
    Before I ask my question, let me say that I have looked at the threads in this forum, and I have read the Gary Willis website, and I own Dan Erlewine's book. I cannot find the answer to this question.

I have recently purchased a Peterson Strobostomp tuner, which is an excellent gadget. I have been setting my intonation in the same way for the last 30 years: by making sure the 12th fret is in tune with the 12th fret harmonic. But when I do this, I notice on the strobe tuner that the lower frets are significantly out of tune.

Short of installing the Buzz Feiten Tuning System, does anybody have any recommendations for compensating for this? Do you try for a compromise between, say, the intonation at the 12th fret and the intonation at the 5th fret?

2. I'm going to make an assumption that you are comparing the fretted notes on frets 1-12 measured by the strobe tuner - right? And if I'm thinking correctly, as you go up the neck, the notes get progressively more "in tune" with the tuner reference? I'm just making sure of the basics here but I probably don't need to if you are the Fusillo that I think you are. ;)