1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Setup double check

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by RattleSnack, Jul 18, 2019.

1. RattleSnack

RattleSnack Supporting Member

Sep 22, 2011
    Europe
    Hi everyone, I am looking for opinions considering my curent setup. I have 20 years of experience in playing and setting my bass guitars, but just 6 months playing double bass (pizz and simple 1-5 most of the time).
    I have chinese plywood double bass, checked and set by local luthier of good reputation. He gave my instrument a grade "decent", considers it OK choice for a learning and small gigs. He agreed with me that relief is too big, so he plained (flattened) fingerboard.
    But my left fretting hand got tired playing for longer than 30 minutes even after that, so I am considering asking him for even flatter fingerboard. I understand I am beginner at double bass, but have a hard time accepting this phisical barrier. I am no stranger to high tension flatwound strings on a bass guitar and have no problem playing 3 hour funk/soul gig, without break.
    At the moment, E string is Spirocore medium, A, D and G are no-name metal-core strings, possibly tensionvise equivalent of Spirocore light. Earlier there were Dominant medium, but I couldn't deal with stiffnes.
    At the nut, strings are low (thin paper barely fits under), at the end of fingerboard bottom of the strings is 7, 6, 5 and 4 mm high (or low, right?). When I press E string at the end of the fretboard and connect them, relief is about 2 mm at the most.
    I read here that for pizz jazz, fingerboard should be pretty flat. Do you think my setup and specialy relief is OK?

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago