Short scale bass strings go dead crazy fast

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by nozkcb, Jun 7, 2021.

1. nozkcb

nozkcb Supporting Member

Jan 23, 2009
    I've been playing bass for 40 years. I have been fortunate enough to have had about a hundred basses in my life, but until last year I never had a short scale Bass.

I have a 30 scale P-style bass that plays great and sounds great with new strings on it, however, unlike any other bass I've ever had, this one kills strings in some cases, literally within hours, or maybe over the period of a few rehearsals. The E-string especially will go dead, (and I mean from brand new sparkling and snappy, to like flat-wound dead) in a matter of hours.

I have tried 4 different brands of nickel wound and one set of stainless. I've tried different gauges too, and while heavier strings hold out a little bit longer, they all go dead incredibly fast.

I can find no information on what might be causing this, or how to prevent it from happening. That said, I have been careful to not cut the strings too short. In fact, on the second set of strings I tried, I literally wound on the entire (uncut) string on the peg to ensure it wasn't coming unraveled. I crimp the ends 90° before winding them. I wipe the strings down regularly, I am not beating on them excessively hard.

I can't believe four different brands of strings can all exhibit the same behavior. The only common denominator is the bass itself.

Has anybody else experienced this, and does anyone have any suggestions?

2. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

May 4, 2009