Should I do it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassflyer19, Jan 29, 2009.

1. Yes

34.3%
  2. No

32.9%
  3. Carrots

32.9%
  1. bassflyer19

bassflyer19

Nov 18, 2008
    Florida
    so, ive been playing for 6-7 years now, and ive recently become interested in short-scale basses. ive come to the conclusion that i wouldn't mind getting one for a low price. RondoMusic to the rescue, i found one that fits what i want.

heres the link: http://www.rondomusic.com/sjb5734car.html

if i get it, then im going to replace the knobs with standard Jazz bass knobs. so, save up the 120ish dollars to get it, or just stay with all full scales?

2. funkybass4ever

funkybass4ever

Dec 12, 2007
    Do you have a reason to play a short scale bass or do you just want one? Many bassists play them because their hands are very small - some teens learning bass-or have had hand/tendon problems such as tendonitis and or Carpel tunnel. If you want to get one just out of curiosity then you can if you want. If you are seroius about a small scale bass then I would go for a Birdsong. What is it about a full size bass that you are unhappy with?:bassist:

3. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    If you're got a hundred bucks or so, go for it. 30" is pretty short. In my mind, thats pretty much reserved for beatle basses and gibson eb-somethings. If this doesn't work out, think about 32" scale. I used to be a one bass guy back in the days of my Fender Urge I. I probably would still be if that neck would've held up better.

4. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    I guess I didn't say why I prefer 32" over 30." At 30", the strings start to feel funny - string tension isn't what I'm used to. At 32," you've got a fast little neck that feels great (to me) string-tension wise and, in my hands and to my ears, sounds and plays a little more in tune than a 30" or 34."