1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I forget finger-per-fret?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JasonFil, Sep 30, 2017.

1. JasonFil

JasonFil

Dec 15, 2014
    Maryland
    Hello,

For primarily financial reasons, I have unfortunately not been able to have formal training, so I'm self-taught. When I began two and a half years ago, I made the conscious choice to disregard the 4 fingers / 3 fret rule in favor of finger-per-fret to improve my finger span. I already had a good enough fingerspan due to classical guitar training and electric guitar fiddling.

Out of curiosity, I recently tried playing some of my earlier exercises using the suggested 4/3 technique and I was surprised to see that it felt much more natural to my fretting hand. Turns out that the shapes that I would play on the electric guitar (like walking through a major scale) are not similar to the shapes that I had to play for the bass.

So I have been thinking whether I should be completely changing my entire playing to 4/3, re-learning my favorite tracks. I have partially done as such and of course it has been a thoroughly enriching experience for (re-)learning the fretboard.

However, my prior formal training on the guitar and personal intuition would dictate that it would be a mistake to completely let go of finger-per-fret, given that it has the distinct advantage of a bigger fingerspan. For example of an advantage of finger-per-fret, the longer fingerspan allows one to avoid all open strings when playing up to the 5th fret.

In addition, I have identified a slap riff or two where it is advantageous to shift between the fretting techniques. Without doubt, I will see many more.