1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I join this band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RandomBass90, Jun 20, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Hello TB, long-time lurker here who is faced with a situation that I'd like TB's general consensus on before making a decision.

I had posted a local Craigslist ad about a month ago offering myself as a bassist for any local giging bands. I have received only one bite from this, an offer to play in a local modern country cover band. The BL emailed me with details like their gig radius, band website, types of venues, schedules, etc. The two example artists that he gave me were Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan, if that means anything to anyone. He also advised that it pays well but wasn't specific.

My major issue with this is that I really, reeeaaally don't like modern country. It's one of very few genres of music that I just outright dislike and cannot enjoy in any capacity. I don't think it's objectively bad music, as if such a thing exists, it's just that I personally dislike it very much. I scoped out their site and confirmed that, from the videos on there, I wouldn't enjoy the music being played. The other issue, which is less severe, is that it looks like the band plays almost every Saturday, and I've got a current, longstanding originals project with my best friend and drummer, and our only days to get together and write/record are Saturdays (I know it's kinda naive to expect to find a band that won't be trying to gig every Saturday, but that's the hope anyway).